Tell Us Your Backstory Belinda Williams

belinda-williams

 

Tell Us Your Backstory Belinda Williams

For me, reading has always been about escapism.

I love the ability to open the pages of a book and suddenly be transported to another time, another place, and meet new people and go on new adventures. It’s a type of real world magic open to anyone who can read.

As a young girl, I was always that kid with her nose in a book. I thought I’d found my soul mate when, in Year 5, a new girl started at my school and we became fast friends. From that point on, we spent our lunchtimes together reading in the playground. (I’m pretty sure the other kids thought we were weird, but I was still too young to worry about that!)

As I grew older, stories of my own started to surface. I still have the notebooks containing my teenage attempts at what I now realise were the beginnings of romance stories. There’s even a brooding rock star (clearly I was ahead of my time, or it’s proof that nothing goes out of fashion!)

Then I grew older and I started to forget about that magic. Those stories got put away until my late twenties, when, growing jaded with my career, I turned back to writing as a creative outlet. It took the birth of my son to truly sharpen my focus, because you know, deciding to write a novel when you’re sleep deprived and hormonal is a completely rational decision . . .

Or maybe I had glimpsed a little bit of that magic again. I’ve no idea how exactly, because my son cried A LOT and slept even less, but hysteria is a sort of magic, right?

Now my son is in primary school and my sixth novel, Heartthrob, has just been released. After I wrote that first book, now I can’t imagine not writing.

Recently a good friend of mine put my passion for writing in perspective. She’s supported my career from early on, and I always hear from her as soon as she’s read my latest release. This time when she called, she told me one of her daughters had been ill—really ill—and they were in hospital overnight. “So I re-read The Boyfriend Sessions,” she told me, “and that helped get me through.”

It was a light bulb moment. My books help others to escape. Not rocket science, exactly, because that’s why I read, too. But until someone actually told me how important that brief reprieve from reality was for them, I hadn’t given it the credit it deserved.

“Reading your book is for me,” my friend told me. Her escape. From sick kids, the routine—everything.

The realization I could share a bit of my magic with readers has stuck with me. Or maybe it’s some leftover glitter my son brought home after art class . . .

Either way, my latest release is set in Hollywood. There’s movie stars, red carpets, high fashion, stalkers—you name it. It has plenty of glamor and sparkle, and I hope you’ll enjoy escaping there if you get the chance.

 

 

Heartthrob
Belinda Williams

Can an average girl survive Hollywood?

Ally Valenti doesn’t belong in Hollywood. Not like her friend and actress, Lena Lyons. Lena’s convinced Ally to pursue her dreams of fashion design, starting with some gowns for the awards season.

Which Ally will get around to creating as soon as she can stop looking at Jacob Swan, Lena’s latest co-star. Not that she’s staring. Ally’s skeptical of anything celebrity and it’s not like she’d be pathetic enough to fall for a Hollywood heartthrob.

Then Ally learns there’s more to Jacob than his good guy, all-American persona. She finds herself torn between the desire to get to know him better and her determination to stay out of the limelight.

Of course the media has other ideas—and someone doesn’t like all the attention Ally’s getting. When threats aimed at destroying her fashion career go too far, Ally’s convinced she’s living in crazy town.

The sensible thing would be to retreat home before it all ends in spectacular fashion. But will Ally be leaving more than her dreams behind if she says goodbye to Hollywood?

This glamorous, fast-paced contemporary romance that will make you smile, is perfect for fans of Rachel Gibson, Victoria Dahl, Susan Elizabeth Phillips, and Liliana Hart.

Buy Now

 

 

Find Belinda online:
Website
Facebook
Twitter
Instagram
Goodreads

 

 

Want to keep up-to-date with everything Australian romance? Become an AusRom Today VIP member:

AusRomToday VIP Member

 

 

 

Advertisements
About jaimeebrooker (1254 Articles)
Keep up-to-date with everything Australian romance fiction with AusRom Today. Featuring author interviews, reviews, new and upcoming releases & giveaways!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: